The Affair according to Paulo

Famous MEA CULPAS

“I have let my family down, and I regret those transgressions with all of my heart. I have not been true to my values and the behavior my family deserves. I am not without faults and I am far short of perfect.” Tiger Woods

“Indeed I did have a relationship with Miss Lewinsky that was not appropriate. In fact, it was wrong … I misled people, including even my wife. I deeply regret that.” Bill Clinton

“The bottom line is this: I have been unfaithful to my wife … I hurt a lot of different folks. And all I can say is that I apologize.” (Back in the day) South Carolina Governor Mark Sanford

“How did I end up here?” Me

Which brings me to the TRUMP question of the year… Why do we cheat?

Science can’t explain it, ask Ashton Kutcher

Religion can’t explain it, ask Israel Houghton

As for me, well I cannot explain it either, but for purposes of this conversation, let’s blame it on my Favourite TV Show of all times Scandal (well that has since changed, but story for another day) or just plain curiosity, boredom or the self loathing that I feel so strongly deep within, that leads me to do things out of this world (I digress)

For those of you, who know me too well and are already bulged eye by now, wondering… If…with whom…why… relax. My IQ in all it’s proportions, is not smart enough for such a brilliant hack, that is why in times like this, I reach out to the only thing I know … Books. And in this instance

Adultery by Paulo Coelho

Never mind the fact that PC is one of my favorite authors of all times. I could read, eat drink PC on my PC everyday (see what I did there…)

I digress.

I picked this book, at a point of conflict, crisis, and crossroads … (again stop with the bulging eyes) to learn a thing or two about life, and my Tv show Scandal of course… and as I read the book many things caught my eye, but this one, this one, excerpt as I neared the end of the book caught my eye

The MEA CULPA OF ALL MEA CULPA

“I thought I had failed at everything except at work and as a mother. I was one step away from life and death at every minute, dreaming about everything we could have had if we were still two teenagers looking into the future together, like the first time. But there came a moment when I understood that I had reached the limits of despair and couldn’t go any deeper, and when I looked up there was a SINGLE outstretched hand: MY HUSBAND’S”. Linda

You see Linda, in the Book Adultery is married to an un unamed husband, making him the perfect husband of all times, and as a result, her perfect life (did I mention she is rich, lives in a house in the hills, perfect adorable children, and might I add, rich unnamed husband? yes perfect life.) gives her everything yet nothing that as she is looking for, as the feels there is something amiss (I started to write a rage, then realized it’s only fiction, so I will not bore you with the details of why I don’t think she should feel anything is amiss! her life is perfect! What do women want? – once again- only fiction). This unexplainable void is what takes her through her soul searching journey for excitement, fulfillment and passion (sounds familiar) ending up with the married man Jacob and somewhere along her journey she says this

“Achieving my dream of getting Jacob in bed took me to great heights and then brought me back to reality. I discovered that although I thought it was love, what I am feeling is merely a crush, destined to end at any moment. And I’m not the least bit concerned with maintaining it.I already got the adventure , the pleasure of the transgression (see there is pleasure in transgression!), the new sexual experiences, the journey. All without feeling a drop of remorse. I am giving myself the present that I deserve after so many years. I am at peace. After so many days of sleeping well, I feel like the dragon has again emerged from the abyss from where it had been exiled. (The dragon again?!)” Linda

So in the end, it was just a journey. Was her journey meaningless and fraught with complexity? (I don’t know) did I get any morals? (I never lost them) Was my IQ heightened? (I don’t know I need to book an appointment with Ellen DeGeneres,play her game of 30 secs is it, and find out) Did anything stand out? (YES! When she was in her pit of pits… the only single outstretched hand, was her HUSBAND’s.) and to be honest, my IQ can get that.

can yours?

YOUR MEA CULPA

Have you read the book?

Any ground breaking, earth shattering aha moments for you?

Share your thoughts with us, we would love to hear from you πŸ™‚

Yours Truly

The Book Swag xo

14 thoughts on “The Affair according to Paulo

Leave a Reply

